William D. Hatfield Award (WEF–PNCWA Award)

The William D. Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism. The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45. He served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Member of PNCWA
  • A nominee has demonstrated sustained and ongoing contributions for at least five years to further and improve the field of treatment plant operations.
  • Activities that demonstrate contributions may include:
    • Development or participation in a successful reporting system of reports.
    • Documentation of a successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
    • Use of an effective public relations program.
    • The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field.


Submit a Hatfield Award Nomination


PNCWA recipients of the William D. Hatfield Award

2023 No awardee
2022 Justine Abrook, Clean Water Services
2021 Pamela Randolph, City of Edmonds, WA
2020 John Ozga
2019 Shawn Moffit, Jacobs (Twin Fall, ID)
2018 Anthony Benavidez, Jacobs (Spokane County, WA)
2017 Jack Bennion, CH2M (Twin Falls)
2016 Scott Thompson, City of Bend, OR
2015 Casey Fisher, City of Coeur d'Alene, ID
2014 Michael Trent, WES Clackamas County
2013 Sid Fredrickson, City of Coeur d'Alene, ID
2012 Dan Hanthorn, City of Corvallis, OR
2011 Rob Baur, Clean Water Services, Hillsboro, OR
2010 Jon Herrick, City of Pocatello, ID
2009 Ross Stout, South Fork Coeur d'Alene River Sewer District, Osburn, ID
2008 Shane Jeff, Veolia Water NA, City of Burley, ID
2007 Gilbert Sanchez, Veolia Water NA (City of Caldwell, ID)
2006 Max Hildebrand, City of Corvallis, OR
2005 Joe Whisler, City of Lincoln City, OR
2004 Miles Beach, City of Ocean Shores, WA
2003 John Shawcroft, City of Meridian, ID
2002 Ron Moeller, City of Chehalis, WA
2001 Jim Fleming, City of Centralia, WA
2000 Robert Sprick, City of Eugene, OR
1999 Urban Wessels
1998 Kim Barte
1996 Bill Harlan
1994 Bruce Bates
1993 Carlo Spani
1992 Timothy Pelton
1991 Alton Prouty
1990 Marvin Kennedy
1989 Jay Ulrich
1988 Donald Caldwell
1987 Sam Logan
1986 Dick Finger, King County WA
1985 Thomas Kolby
1984 John Squires
1983 Forrest Butler
1982 Gale Olrich
1981 Gary Towell
1980 Ronald W. Hathorn, City of Boise, ID
1979 Howard Harris
1978 Clarence Ortman
1977 Jack Irvin
1976 Edwin Sironen
1975 James Easley
1974 Paul Page
1973 Clifford Reed
1972 Eugene Davis
1971 Glade Wilson
1970 Thomas Barnes
1969 O. A. Bless
1968 Orrin Crooks
1967 Charles Zickefoose
1966 Charles Munkres
1964 Art Reisdorph
1963 Samuel Krause