Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

Note: Need to download a copy of the criteria for all awards open to nominations?  Download all Awards Criteria

This award acknowledges extraordinary personal service to a Member
Association. The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, the second
president of the Water Environment Federation.


a) A nominee must be a member of the Water Environment Federation.

b) A nominee has demonstrated sustained and ongoing contributions for at
least five years to further and improve Association activities, such as
organization leadership, administrative service or membership activity.

Contributions may include: Organizational leadership---Nominee has served and demonstrated
leadership as a PNCWA officer, Federation Director, Regional Director or
PNCWA Committee Chair
Administrative service---Nominee has actively participated on one or
more PNCWA committee.
Membership activity---Nominee has actively participated in PNCWA
activities, such as regular attendance at the annual conference,
supporting the annual conference, presenting papers at the annual

Nominate an individual for the Arthur Sidney Bedell Award now.

Past Recipients of the Bedell Award

2017 Dr. Erik Coats, University of Idaho

2016 John Shawcroft 

2015 Kay Hust, Clark County, WA

2014 Richard “Dick” Finger, Retired (formerly King County)

2013 Heather Stephens, Kennedy/Jenks Consultants, Portland, OR

2012 Ron Moeller, Kennedy/Jenks Consultants, Chehalis, WA

2011 Mike Myers, City of Aberdeen, OR (retired)

2010 Steve James, J-U-B Engineers, Coeur d'Alene, ID

2009 Paul Schuler, GE Water and Process Technologies, Portland, OR

2008 Sheri Wantland, Clean Water Services, Hillsboro, OR

2007 Irene Wall, Tetra Tech, Seattle, WA

2006 Bob McDaniel, South Suburban Sanitary District Klamath Falls, OR

2005 Doug Berschauer, CH2MHill, Bellevue

2004 Mark Walter, Beaver Equipment Company

2003 J. Michael Read, HDR, Portland, OR

2002 Linda Kelly, Clean Water Services, Hillsboro, OR

2001 Ray Hyde, City of Hailey, ID

2000 Dale Richwine, MWH, Portland

1999 Marvin Daniels

1998 Skip & Mel Harlan

1997 Carl Jones

1996 Owen Boe

1995 Alton Prouty

1994 Woodie Muirhead

1993 Timothy Neketin

1992 Bill Hoagland

1991 Norva Sobotta

1990 Patricia Brown

1989 Stan LeSieur

1988 Gale Olrich

1987 George Mason

1986 Forrest Butler

1985 David Wilson

1984 Gordon Koblitz

1983 Waite Dalrymple

1982 James Boydston

1981 Thomas Krumsick

1980 Surinder Bhagat

1979 Thomas Binford

1978 Charles Zickefoose

1977 Gerald Calkins

1976 William Funk

1975 Walter Saxton

1974 Carl E. Carlson

1973 Ed Lynd

1972 V. M. Terry

1971 Ralph Roderick

1970 Arthur Van’t Hull

1969 Warren Westgarth

1968 Leland Sphar

1967 H. Loren Thompson

1966 Robert Leaver

1964 Marvin Runyan

1963 M. S. Campbell

1962 Gilbert Dunstan

1960 R. T. Smith

1958 Kenneth Spies

1957 Robert Sylvester

1955 Emil Jensen

1952 Ray Koon

1949 Carl Green

Nominate an individual for the Arthur Sidney Bedell Award now.