Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award (WEF–PNCWA Award)

Note: Need to download a copy of the criteria for all awards open to nominations?  Download all Awards Criteria

This award recognizes individuals for outstanding performance,
professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.


  • A nominee must be a member of the Water Environment Federation.
  • A nominee must be employed at an educational facility laboratory,
industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory that performs
wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical
  • Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
  • Qualifying criteria may include:
    • Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: WEF
Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA Committees and
    • Outstanding efforts in wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses,
including innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment,
analytical or environmental problem.
    • Involvement in community activities or public relations.
    • Presentations at professional conferences and meetings relevant to water
quality analysis.
    • Professional certifications
    • Continuing education
    • Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominee's facility
    • Unusual initiative or performance "beyond the call of duty"

Submit an online nomination to the Awards Committee
:The online nomination form asks for
1. Biography (1 page) of the nominee to include work and volunteer
history and details of the nominee's accomplishments in the laboratory
analysis field.
2. Description of the nominee's accomplishments in the laboratory analysis field.
3. Supporting material documenting the nominee's activities and accomplishments.

Submit an online nomination to the Awards Committee now.

PNCWA recipients of the Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
2017 Steven Hall, City of Salem
2016 Suzanne Potts, King County, WA
2015 River Wan, Pierce County
2014 Rebecca Fox, City of Anacortes, WA
2013 Laurelei McVey, City of Meridian
2012 Jim O’Reilly, Clean Water Services
2011 Nela Rice, CH2M HILL, OMI, City of Walla Walla
2009 Lorisa Watkins, West Sound Utility District
2008 Alan Bingham, Clean Water Services, Hillsboro, OR
2007 Victoria Boettcher, Clackamas County WES
2006 Loren Weideman, City of Ontario, OR
2005 Marel Harstad, City of Port Townsend, WA
2004 Rick Schultz, City of Fruitland, ID
2003 Angela M. Parrish, City of Corvallis
2001 Paul Jue
2000 Steve Snider
1999 Andy Tiller
1998 Keith Chapman
1997 James Ollerenshaw
1995 Steve Snider