Lyman Ketcham Award (PNCWA Award)

This award honors individual PNCWA members who have made outstanding contributions in the field of wastewater collection system maintenance and operation. It is the equivalent of the Hatfield Award for treatment plant operations and maintenance.

Submit online nominations to the Awards Committee

Eligibility Criteria:

a) Member of the PNCWA.
b) A nominee has demonstrated sustained and ongoing contributions for at
least five years to further and improve the field of collection system
maintenance and operations.
c) The nominee's area of service must have been in one or more of these
areas: management, planning, operations, maintenance facility design,
education, training, and research.
d) Activities that demonstrate contributions include:

  • Active participation in PNCWA, WEF, and other organizations on projects and committees focused on collection system maintenance and operations issues.
  • Presentation of papers on collection system maintenance and operations at conferences of PNCWA, WEF, APWA, and other relevant organizations.
  • Publication in a Federation periodical of a formal report or article on collection system maintenance and operations challenges and successes.
  • Implementation of successful programs and policies that improve efficiency, productivity, and cost-effectiveness within the nominee's organization.

The online nomination form asks for the following information:

1. Nominee contact info
2. Biography of the nominee to include professional and volunteer
history in the operation of treatment plants and collections systems.
3. Description of the nominee's accomplishments in the collection systems maintenance and operations field and reference to any supporting material documenting the nominee's accomplishments.

PNCWA recipients of the Lyman Ketcham Award

2020 Eric Bergstrom, HDR Engineering

2019 Steve Lusch, Roseburg Urban Sanitary Authority (Roseburg, OR)

2018 Rob Lee, Murraysmith & Associates (Portland, OR)

2015 Carrie Pak, Clean Water Services

2014 Jeremy Coles, City of Rexburg, ID

2013 Terry Soden, Pierce County

2012 Bob Swarner, King County

2010 Bruce Clouser, City of Salem, OR

2009 Kim Ashmore, City of Centralia, WA

2008 Rich Cunningham, City of Albany, CA

2007 Dan O'Malley, City of Bend, OR

2006 Linda Dartsch, City of Portland, OR

2005 Jim Peterson, HDR, Bellevue, WA

2004 Richard Dees, City of Boise

2003 Lynn Moser, Eagle Sewer District, Eagle, ID

2002 Mike Myers, City of Aberdeen, WA

2001 Victor Cole, Municipal Service Company

2000 Bill Peacock, City of Spokane, WA

1999 John Jurgens, Trenchless Resources International

1998 Don Jacoby, City of McMinnville OR

1997 John Lewis, Clackamas Community College

1996 Wes Reynolds, City of Seattle WA

1994 George Kneese, City of Hillsboro OR

1993 Jimmie D. Robbins, Chelan County PUD WA

1992 Jene Prudent, Idaho Falls ID

1991 C.E. "Corky" Mattingly

1990 Craig Johns, City of Stayton OR

1989 Clint Read, Des Moines Sewer District WA

1988 W. H. (Dub) Burnum, Clackamas County OR

1987 Tom Liston, City of Coeur d’Alene ID

1985 Larry Zandi, City of Longview WA

1982 Francis Olmstead, City of Spokane WA

1982 Duane Worley, Clackamas County OR

1980 Don Proctor, City of Bremerton WA

1978 Bud Toy, City of Corvallis OR

1975 Leland Spahr, Concrete Products Association of WA

1973 Jim Day, City of Spokane WA

1971 Lyman Ketcham, City of Tacoma WA